The Art of Muay Thai: Interview With Frank Marshall Wells

Everyone has something in life that they are passionate about. Whether it’s your career, family, or helping others, we all have one thing that we strive to be the best at. For Frank, his passion is Muay Thai. In case you’re unfamiliar with the term, Muay Thai is a form of hard martial art that is practiced in large parts of the world, including Thailand and other Southeast Asian countries. Muay Thai is also becoming extremely popular here in the U.S, making for a very exciting sport to watch or perform in.

A few weeks ago, Frank competed in the Muay Thai Championship; “Warriors Cup,” where he defeated his opponent and took home the belt.

frank belt
Frank after he won the belt!

I had the pleasure of meeting up with Frank, (outside the ring, of course) to learn how he became so passionate about this sport. Check out our interview here:

JT:OK – We’ll start off easy; At what age did you get into this sport? Did you start out as a little kid taking some Karate classes then decided to take it to the next level?

FMW: I did do karate as a kid, mostly because my dad was doing it and I thought it would be cool, but like any other kid I just got bored of it and didn’t do anything with it for a while. When I was a little older the same school actually called me back to try some new classes they were adding, after some time there I moved on to an actual Muay Thai school named The Institute Muay Thai, where I currently train, and yeah… definitely the next level

JT: What is your favorite strike/submission to use in a fight?

FMW:Nothing like a good head kick to put a smile on my face! Haha

JT:Who was your biggest inspiration growing up?

FMW: Depended on what I was doing at the time haha, when I was playing baseball it was Mike Piazza, when I was playing football it was Jerome Bettis. Then when I got into fighting I got inspired by a lot of people, Matt Hughes was a big one, Chuck Liddell… just tough guys who were willing to leave it all out there.

JT:Let’s talk about your team(s) you’re training with. How have they been influential/supportive of your upcoming fight?

frank1

FMW:They’re the best! With Muay Thai fights I train solely out of The Institute, and we have such an active team, everyone is always fighting, so we all push each other to get better and all bringing each other to new levels constantly. They always have my back 100% and I have theirs. For this fight in particular, I have also been getting sparring in at Nick Catone’s MMA gym in Brick, and I’ve gotten to consistently get rounds in with top level guys in the UFC, which has helped me out a lot as well, in that environment it’s like Osmosis, ya just get better from being there.

JT:What does it mean to you to be a fighter? Why is it so important?

FMW: It’s just something that I really enjoy doing, I feel like its pure. I get to express the work I’ve put in over the last couple of years, and I like to be able to show that work to my family, friends and random people who enjoy the sport. I want to see how far I can take this, how good I can really get. Aside from that, fighting is just fun I’m at the point now where I’m starting to get more comfortable in the cage/ring and actually enjoy what I’m doing why I’m doing it.

JT: What would you say separates you from other fighters in your weight division?

FMW: I know this will probably sound cliché and somewhat typical, but I’m willing to go to places physically and mentally that a lot of people aren’t willing to go to. I think a lot of people are scared of, or will avoid getting, uncomfortable and making themselves miserable in the name of getting tougher or getting in better shape. I’ll do it sometimes by choice, other times sort of forced upon by my teammates/coaches.

JT: If you could have one dream fight with anyone, who would it be?

FMW:Not that at I would fare very well at this point in time, but I think it would be cool to fight Kevin Ross… Dude is one of my favorite fighters ever.

JT: How many days/hours have you been training for this next fight?

FMW: Depending on the day, it could be anywhere from 1 hour to 4-5 hours, but I train 6 days a week usually…. Sometimes that off day becomes a not off day, but it all balances itself out.

frank cover photo

JT: How would you like to be remembered at the end of your career?

FMW: As a world champion! Someone who was tough, and for being creative… I always like trying new stuff.

JT: How is your family supportive of you and this sport?

FMW: They’re awesome. Always willing to help in any way that they can. Also, they sell more tickets for me than I do!

JT: What advice do you have for future fighters?

FMW: Be grateful for being healthy enough to do this sport, and enjoy as much of it as you can! Muay Thai is a great community, go cross train and learn as much as your brain can hold and learn when/how to apply your knowledge/skill.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

