Brianne Addison

 

Ladies and gentlemen, meet my new writer, Brianne!

I decided to seek the extra help when I noticed that I was stuck on the same page of my book. As much as I’d like to think I can do it all on my own, I really can’t. Plus, I wanted to engage with new thoughts and ideas that can only come from bringing on someone new. Brianne is a writer as well, (and a pretty damn good one I might add). And we met only in the classiest way imaginable; CRAIGSLIST.

A few emails, one exchanging of number, and a short but very sweet bio later, I had a new intern! Brianne has shared with you one of her personal favorite articles.

Check out her bio and article here:

brianne

“Brianne Addison believes that we never stop learning and evolving. She is a 23-year old science & literature lover / self-proclaimed bookworm / and aspiring, professional writer, from Monmouth County, New Jersey. She chooses not to restrict her writing to any one particular genre or category, preferring instead to see what peaks her interest at the time and just roll with it. Brianne graduated from Brookdale Community College with her A.A. degree in Liberal Arts and plans on obtaining her B.A. in English in the near future. In her spare time, Brianne enjoys hiking, camping, reading British Literature, watching corny movies, and listening to obscure music. Along with writing for http://www.themuddledmillennial.com, she also writes for Speak Into My Good Eye and runs her own blog, On Yonder. She is always hungry, drinks copious amounts of coffee, and spends way too much time with her cats.”

 

 

“Trusting Others in The Age of Bubble Wrap”

Written by: Brianne Addison

My Father had the radio on a couple of weeks ago.

It was tuned into the kind of station which thrives off of people calling in and complaining about nothing. I often tune it out. On that day, however, it caught my attention. The topic of choice was hitchhiking. The radio hosts were asking people to call in with their hitchhiking stories- was it a good or bad experience? Regardless of what the experience was, the idea being pushed was that hitchhiking was dangerous!

In this day and age of ultimate fear mongering and cloaking everything in copious amounts of bubble wrap, the idea of hitchhiking seems equal to walking up to a rattlesnake and probing it to bite. Basically, you are asking for a bad day. I understand the fear. With so many public attacks, child kidnappings, cold-blooded murders, and all around horrific acts in the world, who would want to trust anyone ever? It is easier to keep yourself in your safe space, to never let your children out of sight….

That will be the downfall of our society.

When I was 17, I hitchhiked from my college to the train station. I was afraid I’d miss the train home and I was rushing down the street with a hamper of dirty laundry and a backpack full of, what felt like bricks. I saw a pick-up truck turning the corner and, without thinking, I did the classic hitchhiking thing. I threw my hand out, and the truck pulled over.

It was a black man who picked me up, probably in his 40’s and with a thick, foreign accent. He asked me where I needed to go, I told him the train station, and he drove me there. A 17-year-old girl, wearing too short of shorts, naive as anything, and in a foreign area of North Jersey that she did not know.

According to today’s standards, I should have been kidnapped….

But I wasn’t. He parked, I thanked him, and I got out. That was the end of it.

I am not ignoring the fact that I got lucky; the older I get, the more I realize it. I know people (especially young girls) get kidnapped far too often and it is a heinous crime. We hear about it all the time. While it is important to acknowledge and talk about the immoral acts that people commit, why is it we rarely talk about the good deeds?

Obviously, I do not have an answer for that. It is mere observation. All I know is that there are a plethora of little acts that go unnoticed. It is in those little moments that trust is built, but we never really touch upon it.

Horrible things happen in the world, but the fact is, horrible things have happened throughout history. The only difference now is that we have the technology, so obtaining news of said horrors is right at our fingertips. If we don’t bother looking up the news, the media will blast it in our faces anyway, and we all know the media is never over-dramatic, right?

I guess the moral of this odd story of mine is that we ought not to cast away our trust of others. Weariness is a valuable trait, one which kept our ancestor’s alive many hundreds of thousands of years ago, but another trait that kept them alive was curiosity. The ability to take chances, to trust in themselves and their surroundings. That is how progress is made. If we stop trusting one another- if we cease to explore outside of our bubble for fear of the unknown- progress will eventually be halted. Be that progress on a global scale or progress within ourselves.

Two fantastic programs that encourage trust in complete strangers are Couchsurfing and WWOOF. Couchsurfing is a “hospitality exchange and social networking website”, and it costs nothing. People simply open up their homes because they desire to meet others from around the world. WWOOFing is similar in that people open up their farms. You volunteer for a set number of hours per week in exchange for room and board and delicious, organic meals. Good company is also included.

These programs are not a hotel. You are not secluded to your own space. Instead, you are living in someone else’s space, which they openly share with you. And I think that is a lovely thing. We all ought to put a little more trust in one another.

 

AMAZING! I am so happy to have Brianne here to help out with content! You can read more of her work here: https://onyonder.wordpress.com/

 

 

One comment

  1. Well said Brianne. To me, FWB is a relationship whether one wants to admit it or not. It’s a relationship based on avoidance. Avoidance of having to deal with emotions and commitment. Avoidance of having to own up to yourself or someone else, avoiding getting hurt or having to be responsible for your actions or caring about the actions of another. You can see it not only in relationships between 2 people but in many other situations in life.
    Keep writing. Looking forward to reading many more articles from you.

Leave a Reply

