Decorating Tips For a Small Space

Written by: Jessica Baeza

When I moved into my first apartment, I could not wait to start decorating. The small empty space and blank walls were my own personal canvas and allowed my creative side to run free. Being that I live on the beach, I knew right away the theme I would be sticking with. Lots of blues, grays, and pops of color were added to bring the ocean to life inside my new home. However, being that it is a one-bedroom apartment, space was limited when it came time to decorate. Wanting your apartment to look and feel cozy yet not too cluttered can be quite a challenge. Here are a few decorating tips to make your small space look and feel much bigger.

Use Lighter Colors:
Using lighter colors on your walls and floors can make a small space feel bigger and much brighter. This is especially great if you live in a space that doesn’t have many windows to let natural light in.

paint

Mirror, Mirror:
Placing a mirror on the opposite wall from a window will bounce light around the room. And the bigger the mirror, the better! It will make the room feel airier and open.

big mirror

Floating Shelves:
I love my floating shelves! Not only do they serve as an amazing space-saver but the look alone is very modern/chic. Mine are filled with books and candles, two of my favorite things.

floating shelves

Match Curtain Color to Walls:
When your curtains match the walls, it creates an unbroken line which makes the room feel much larger than it really is.

Minimal room setting in shades of grey

Use decorative yet Double-Duty Finds:
A small stool can act as both an end table and a place to hold decorative items. An ottoman with a tray can house your remotes yet turn into extra seating if need be.

ottoman

Go Green:
Plants make even the smallest of spaces feel fresher and lighter. If you do not have floor space, you can always try hanging plants to give your apartment a fresh, clean feel.

plant in apartment

Add Pops of Color:
Since I kept most of my walls on the lighter color side, I like to add pops of color here and there. Whether it be some decorative pillows on my couch or a bright blanket to drape across a chair, it makes the apartment seem bigger, brighter, and much more inviting.

pops of color

All in all, just have fun with it! Just because you do not have a large space to work with doesn’t mean you can’t make your home fun, decorative, and “homey.” Make the most of even the smallest rooms with these great design and decorating tips! You’ll be amazed at what you’re capable of doing. Let your inner Martha show!

Leave a Reply

