An Open Letter to my Best Friend

Written by: Jennifer Hackmann 

Throughout life, we all have experienced friendship at some point. You form your first friendship as a young child. Most often it’s said to be with your siblings or other members of the family because those are the people that you see regularly . As you grow older, the friendships often change depending on what season of life you are going through at that moment. I’m not really much of an outgoing person, however, I’ve always had a lot of acquaintances and people who I like to call “seasonal friends”. In my opinion “seasonal friends ” are the people you form friendships with that generally only last as long as that particular season (period of time) in your life. Don’t get me wrong there’s nothing wrong with these types of friendships, in fact, we all need them. There’s just something really special about the bond that you have when you have a friendship with a best friend. I met my best friend during freshmen year at college. We’ve been friends for ten years now and she’s one of the most important people in my life. I know I tell her often how much she truly means to me but I wanted to take the time to thank her for some of the things I love about her

bff

You accept me.
Being physically disabled, It’s super hard to make friends. Most people see my outward appearance when they look at me and think that because I look different than them I’m mentally challenged as well. On the other hand, they may just be ignorant when it comes to disabilities and not know any better. Luckily You aren’t like that, I can remember meeting you in Freshmen Seminar class and we just started talking like normal ordinary people. After class, we went to dinner in the dining hall. A few days later you asked me to go to a store with her off campus. At first I was nervous because I was worried that after you saw everything that went along with going out somewhere with me, you’d run for the hills but to my surprise you didn’t .you actually was very helpful folding my walker, putting it in and out of the car all while doing it with a smile. You see me as a person not just “a girl with cerebral palsy “.

You just “get” me.

I never have to worry about being judged or misunderstood when I’m around you. You’re one of the only people who I trust completely. I even confide in you more than I do my own family members. When I am around her I can totally let my guard down knowing that at the end of the day you’re still going to be by my side and have my back and that’s a wonderful feeling.

You let me love your daughter

I love the close relationship I share with your baby girl. It means a lot to me that you trust me enough to let me spend hours playing with her, loving her and help you teach her all about life. Being that I can’t have children myself having a special bond with her helps it not seem so bad.

bff quote

You’re like my own personal counselor

Whenever my fiancé and I are having an argument, I love that he always reaches out and asks you for advice. You always know just what to say to make everything all better.

As I said before I know I always tell you how much I care about you but I truly am blessed to have you in my life I’d be lost without you I love you.

 

Photo Source

One comment

Leave a Reply

