Starting Your Day Off Right!

August 24th, 2016 |  Breanne Eckleberry
Waking up (with a positive and fresh attitude) is the hardest part of my day. It usually takes about 6 alarm clocks, all set about 15 minutes apart, and using my 9-minute snooze button each time. I end up staying in bed longer than I should, rushing around to get ready and IF I leave on time, it’s only by seconds. I drink my coffee on the way to work and eat my breakfast at my desk. Some days I feel like I don’t fully wake up until after I drink my second cup of coffee and by this time it’s already been 2 hours since I’ve woken up. WHY does is take so long to “wake up” after we’ve gotten out of bed? What can I do to start my day off on the right side of the bed? I have come up with a few small tweaks to my morning routine that personally worked to get me moving and feel more motivated to make every day great!
snooze button
First off, do not set more than 2 alarm clocks. You know what time you want to wake up, set one alarm clock for the time you want to get out bed and get up! If you want to set an “emergency” alarm for a few minutes later just to make sure you hear it and actually got up, that works too. It seems like the hardest thing in the world but I promise once you put your two feet on the floor and stand up the hardship is over. You’re up, you’re moving around, probably heading straight to the bathroom for your morning release and to brush your teeth, and now you have plenty of time to get ready.
Next, up have your first cup of coffee and breakfast at home. It only takes a few minutes and you will feel so much better! With this time you’re sitting at the table eating your eggs and drinking your cup of joe, check up on what’s going on it the world – try reading the newspaper or maybe a new blog. It will give you a few minutes to take in your caffeine as well as maybe learn something new and it’ll get your brain ready to take on the day. You can also start packing your lunch. Maybe you want to make a fresh salad and some fruit to give you that afternoon pick me up we all need after half a day’s work. It will give you something to look forward to instead of beating that lunch hour traffic or being indecisive over the same take out menus.

Young woman washing her face with cold water

Now here is my favorite … take a few minutes and pamper yourself. Maybe you want to use a face mask or deep condition your hair? I’ve always been so used to getting up and running out of the house that I never even thought to do this. I don’t know about you but I’m usually lucky to brush my hair and maybe put on some mascara. (I’ll just never understand spending an hour on hair and makeup before work) When you give yourself a little extra time, this is a great way to use it. You will feel refreshed and pretty and ready to take on whatever comes your way.
breakfast (250 x 141)
Another great way to start your day is exercise. Whether you go for a run or maybe do some yoga it will really put you in a great mood and give you the energy and motivation you need. This is something I need to start working on myself. I used to wake up every morning at 5amand go to the gym before work and I’ll tell you, I never felt better. I always thought it would make me more tired than normal but it completely wakes you up and gives you this early morning emery that you just can’t get from anything else.
image4
So next time you want to give yourself those extra 9 minutes … or 18 or 27 … Stop yourself. Choose the routine that works best for you, try to stick with it and just wait for the difference. You will be in an all around better mood and have more energy. You won’t be spilling your coffee on yourself in the car or running out the door with 2 different shoes on because you’re still half asleep. Maybe you’ll even get that promotion you’ve been too tired to work for.
One comment

  1. Nice Bree ! I always feel better if I hike,swim, or go to the gym. Laying around the house makes me lazy.

Leave a Reply

