An Open Letter to Procrastinators

August 29th, 2016 | Breanne Eckleberry 

Is tomorrow really another day?

set a goal

It’s so easy to procrastinate and put things off. It’s so easy to say “tomorrow is another day” or “I’ll start Monday.” It’s so easy to keep saying “later” until eventually … You just can’t anymore. We live our lives thinking, assuming, everything will get done. And while yes, they may eventually get done, more often than not (in my case anyway) it’s just getting by or just in time. So why do we do this to ourselves? Why do we put off that vacation we’ve been wanting to take for years? Why do we wait until a week before Christmas to start shopping? Why do we always “start” our diets next Monday?

 

Imagine what we could accomplish if we stopped putting things off and starting being go-getters. Imagine how much easgoal settingier it would be to lose weight if we started our diet today and not next Monday. Imagine how we would succeed if we had plans, bucket lists, goals … And actually chased them!

I know, I’m preaching. It’s so much easier said than done. But, why? I’ll tell you why I have so many things on my to-do list and just not enough time (or money) to do them. It’s so much easier to just skate by and keep pushing everything off. It’s so much easier to say “tomorrow is another day.”

But is tomorrow really another day? Yes, you go to bed and wake up feeling like yes, it’s a fresh, new day. But if you have things piling up or getting pushed off they don’t just disappear because you slept for 8 hours. They are still there, taunting you from the corner, waiting for you to go get ’em.

So, my challenge to myself, and you, is to make a “bucket list.” Not like an extreme bucket list (like for instance, my personal one would be to see all the natural wonders of the world. That’s what I dream about.), I’m talking about an honest, realistic, day-to-day, achievable bucket list for my/your life right now. I’m not saying I won’t one day get to see the wonders of the world, but I know that right now that’s not achievable.

I’ve sat down and come up with a list of things that I would like to accomplish by Christmas. That gives me just about 4 months to achieve short-term” goals. I’ve also made myself a list of “long-term” goals that I know will not happen over night but I need to start thinking about them and chasing them now so they do happen. Do the same for yourself. If you want to lose those 10 or 20 pounds, start now. Want to start saving that extra money, plan your budget now. Want to finally try yoga, go sign up for that class.

stop making excuses

Let’s do this together, I’ll keep you up-to-date on my progress and you can let me know how yours is going. Let us procrastinators stand together (and as my brother-in-law would say) GSD! … Get Shit Done.

Now remember, you’re going to have set backs. There are going to be days or weeks that it feels like it’s just not happening, but don’t give up. Things are going to be in your way, you just have to overcome them and don’t give up.

***I will be posting my list soon and keeping you posted on how I’m doing. Be sure to follow!

Leave a Reply

