Being a #BoyMom is #BadAss

September 10th, 2016 | Mandi Mitchell 

Being the mom of 3 boys, I always get asked if or when I’m going to try to have a girl and am constantly receiving condolences. ‘Don’t you want a little girl?’ ‘ Your sons are all going to eventually leave you.’  ‘A daughter is like a life long friend.’ ‘Wow, 3 boys, bless you!’ ‘Wait, it gets worse.’ This is the kind of crap I hear almost on a daily basis. So, just to set the record straight, NO, I do not want a girl. No, I do not regret having all boys.

boy-mom

When I got pregnant the third time around, I was terrified of the sex of the baby. If it was a girl, I actually would’ve been scared out of my mind. I already have two boys, what the hell would I have to do with a girl? I know nothing about raising one.

momofboys2-keep-calm

Being a #BoyMom is badass! And us Boy Moms have this unspoken connection. When we see each other out and about whilst trying to wrangle our rowdy crew, we give that ‘knowing all to well’ eye roll and smile as to say, ‘been there, done that. Hang in there.’  Sure, there are challenges when it comes to raising boys but I wouldn’t want it any other way. From silly to serious this is what it’s like being a #BoyMom: Good or Bad.

  1. Farts will forever be hilarious. Face it. For some reason, gas out the ass is comical to the male species. I will never understand but it is what it is. “Who the fuck farted?!” comes out of my mouth at least once a day.
  2. Boys are more fun. Now, I’m sure girls are fun in their own way too, but boys are different. Roughhousing, running, jumping, video games, outdoor sports, wrestling matches are a daily occurrence.  Not to mention, they’re more laid back, they’re just a little easier going.
  3. Boys are easier to dress. While it may be true that girls have nicer clothes and more of a selection, boys are just fine with throwing anything on.
  4. Boy toys are way cooler. Girls may get the better clothes but the boys get all the cool toys. I would pick superheroes, video games, robots, and Legos over princesses and Barbie any day of the week.
  5. Potty Issues. There’s pee on the seat and the lid is always up. Deal with it.
  6. There’s constant fighting. Boys fight. A LOT. The good part is, they get over their quarrels extremely fast unlike girls who will hold a grudge for Lord knows how long.
  7. Cleanliness is next to Godliness Impossible. You can bathe them, do their hair, dress them in designer clothes, put new shoes on them and 2 minutes later, somehow, they’re covered in mud or marker or food. White is definitely a color to stay away from.
  8. They eat you out of house and home. I think spend more money on food than I do on rent and my shelves are still bare.
  9. Boys have feelings too. Boys have a crap ton of feelings and they’re emotional they just aren’t that great at expressing it. Everything usually comes down to someone hitting someone else. It’s like dealing with little cavemen.
  10. There’s a special bond between mother and son. I’m not saying that girls don’t have great bonds with their mothers but there’s the saying ‘momma’s boy’ for a reason. You are the first woman they love, look up to and seek comfort in. Dad may be more fun but it’s mom who they run to for emotional support.
  11. A son is a son ’til he takes a wife… Ouch! This has to be the saddest part about being a mother of boys. There’s going to come a time when your son is going to gain independence and have a life of his own. It’s the natural order of things. While females tend to stay close to their families the males tend to drift away. Just remember, it’s nothing you did, and it doesn’t mean they love you less. *Here’s to hoping you have a wonderful daughter-in-law that loves you*
  12. You Worry. ALL THE TIME. Boys are rough and tumble and always doing things that could hurt them. “Ma, look what I can do!” is usually a good indication that something bad about happens. Take stock in Band-Aid.

mom-of-boys-join-the-m-o-b

Boys are challenging, there’s no doubt about it but, I love my boys to the moon and back. And hey, if I ever get overly emotional about never being able to doll anyone up with ribbons and bows, there’s always Halloween right?!

Leave a Reply

