Southern Jersey Belle

October 23rd, 2016 | Jennifer Hackmann
Four Reasons Why a Jersey Girl Loves The South:

img_0017
I was born and raised in New Jersey. Most women that get to grow up here love the fast paced, on the go, Starbucks on every corner, hustle and bustle way of living that makes up this state. Although, technically being born and raised in New Jersey might make me a “Jersey girl”, I don’t exactly fit the part. I wholeheartedly believe that I am misplaced and I am a country girl at heart. I was introduced to Country music at a young age being as I lived in a household full of country music lovers. My parents listened to the Dixie Chicks, Clint Black, Brooks and Dunn, Toby Keith, Garth Brooks and much more. When I was about seventeen I started realizing that country wasn’t just a genre of music it is also a lifestyle. As time went on the southern culture became more appealing to me. I then started noticing the differences between the two cultures and developed these four reasons why I’d rather live in the south.

1. Southern people are generally more well mannered:

When I was nineteen I went on road trip to Florida and on the way down there I stopped in Georgia for a couple days. Shortly after entering the state, I couldn’t believe how polite,genuine and friendly the locals were. For instance, every time I’d walk into a convenient store, I’d hear something like “well, hey, how you doing today? ” from a complete stranger. Honestly, after hearing that I became sort of shocked because for whatever reason people in Jersey aren’t always that friendly they are often more reserved and reluctant to start conversations with who they haven’t met yet.

2. Everyone is family:

Southerners aren’t just very friendly during conversations but in every aspect of their daily life. If you walk into a southerner’s house, they will most likely warmly greet you with a glass of sweet tea and ask if you’re hungry. They will tell you to make yourself at home and treat you as if you were part of their family.  Again, northerners tend to think twice before being so open and inviting. Sure, they would be polite and courteous, but they usually tend to treat you as a guest in their home. They would be more hesitant about letting you have a full range of their home at least until they had a chance to get more comfortable with you. Now, I’m not saying that’s a bad thing. In today’s society, sometimes you have to be more guarded with your life, but I personally gravitate to people who treat me as if I was one of their own when I go to their house for a visit. In my opinion, when you treat someone as a “guest” the visit comes off as forced, awkward and impersonal.

3. Country Music is LIFE:

Country (music) is one of those genres that people either love or hate. Let’s face it, most northerners hate it. There’s a joke about country music that I’ve been hearing people say over and over again for years now, the joke goes like this:

“What do you get when you play a country song backward?” Answer: you get your dog back, you get your job back and you get your wife back.”

( haha) The joke has some truth to it I suppose, but take a minute and think about your everyday life then turn on a country radio station . I bet you will definitely find a song that you could relate a situation that you’re going through in your life right now. You can’t always say that about today’s pop and rap music, which are mostly about sex, money, bitches and hoes. Country music is wholesome music that people of all ages can listen too.

4. Being a “redneck” can be a good thing:

The word “redneck” often has a negative meaning, but it doesn’t have too. Some northerners are driven by money and status. They tend to like the finer things in life. Some women love fancy cars, homes, expensive clothes, and plastic surgery. Whereas, southerners (rednecks) could care less about material things. There’s not a too much financial competition between people as much as in the north. Southerners tend to focus their energy and attention on the people in their life and the activities and events that happen. No, they don’t usually live in nice houses or drive fancy cars but they tend to be people that are comfortable in their our skin and just enjoy life as it comes. They love the simplicity of life.

Even though I was born in Jersey and still live in Jersey currently, my dream is to move to one of the southern states. Maybe some day I will.

One comment

Leave a Reply

