If You Believe in Soul-Mates, Then This is For You

October 26th, 2016 | Caitlin Santomauro

img_0021

It is believed by some that when your soul descends to earth from the heavens, it splits into two halves; each half of the soul inhabiting a separate body. The two people who inhabit each half of the soul are forever “soul mates” and will never be truly complete until they find one another again.

This folklore may be hard to believe as true. Similarly to the word “soul mates” itself, it seems like a fantasy, a fairy tale, something that only exists in stories. Can we believe that there is one special person made for us and they are out in the world just waiting until we are brought together?

I always believed in this theory, however through bad experiences with love I slowly began to lose my faith in true love. “True love”, just as soul mates, is another thing that hard to believe in. however, although it may be hard to believe, I still have hope that it isn’t fiction… I still believe that true love and soul mates are real.

You may be saying to yourself, how could I be so naïve? But to me there is a big difference between being naïve and having faith in love. Love is the most powerful energy there is. It could heal even the most broken soul.

When I think about what true love is, I picture a beautiful feeling filled with passion, intimacy, and commitment. A soul mate, to me, is your other half. The person who completes you on a spiritual level. It is a relationship with mutual understanding, communication, and respect for one another that brings a smile to your face and peace to your heart. It is two people who have a deep connection that meets the mind, heart, body, and soul. Soul mates share a love so deep, strong, and complex that there is complete acceptance and absolutely no judgement. It is a connection on every level that brings a sense of peace, calmness and true happiness to your world. It two people against the world, side by side, partners, and friends forever.img_0022

I am a strong believer in everything happening for a reason. That people come in and out of our lives for a certain purpose. Sometimes to teach us something or to teach them something. Sometimes to show us something or to show them something. And sometimes to help us with something or to help them with something. It could be friendships or intimate relationships, but not matter what, there is a purpose for them being in your life. I have always believed this, and I know I am not the only one.

Maybe true love and soul mates is something people can still believe in as well. Maybe it isn’t just a fantasy or a fairy tale. I’m sure everyone has experienced love at some point in their lives, but how can you tell if the love you are experiencing is “true love”?
Some days I sit and think about the love I have had in my life and I ask myself “was he my soul mate? Was our love ‘true love’?” I have to admit, that the answer to my questions is yes.

Although we are not in an intimate relationship anymore, I will always have true, unconditional love for this man.

We met when we were just kids at the age of 18. We had our chance for an intimate relationship, but unfortunately we were not ready. We were too young and inexperienced to handle the intensity and passion of the love we had for each other. When we separated, I remember just feeling completely lost, as if part of me was torn away from my soul. And although we are technically apart today, our love is still very much alive.

img_0023

As I stated earlier, everything happens for a reason. This man was completely out of my life for 5 years, only to come back to me as a very dear friend. In the time we spent apart, I lost myself completely. When he returned, he helped to bring me back to life without even knowing it. To me, this is the exact reason he came back into my life. He taught me how to love again. How to be loved, receive love, to give love, and most importantly how to love myself.

 

When we are together today, the connection between us is so strong and the love we share is so pure and unconditional. The bond we share is complete understanding and acceptance for one another with no judgment. He makes me smile from my heart and makes me feel complete again. This is why I still have faith in true love and soul mates. Because he is my soul mate and we do share true love.

Love exists in so many different forms. At one point in our lives, our love was in the form of a romantic relationship, but today our love is in the form of one of the truest friendships I have ever had. Love is always changing, evolving, growing, but love in its true form will never die. And that is the real definition of true love. This experience proves to me that true love and soul mates is not a fantasy, or fiction. They are both very real, as real as you and I.

I hope every single person in this world has the opportunity to experience love in any or all forms. Love is a power greater than anything on this earth. It is a positive energy that will always exist. As long as we have love in our hearts, love will never die.

 

About The Writer: Caitlin is a 26-year-old who was born and raised in Long Island, NY. She attended college in Boston, MA, where she earned her Bachelors while majoring in Advertising.

Leave a Reply

